Jump to

Freedom Holder of the City

The civic award of Freedom Holder of the City is the highest civic honour. Freedom holders are rare awards given to people who have made a significant and sustained contribution to the city.

Dr Noel Karalus 2021
Peta Karalus 2021
Peter Bos 2019
Karen Morrison-Hume 2018
Russ Rimmington  2018
David Braithwaite (Deceased) 2018
Gordon Chesterman 2016
Kiingi Tuheitia 2016
David Sidwell 2014
Campbell Smith (Deceased) 2014
Pippa Mahood 2013
Sir William Gallagher 2008
John Gallagher 2008
Ted Armstrong 2005
Brian Perry (Deceased) 2005
Dame Malvina Major 2001
Margaret Evans 1998
Bob Eyeington (Deceased) 1993
Mike Minogue (Deceased) 1991
Dr Anthony Rogers (Deceased) 1991
Lady Rhyl Jansen 1989
Sir Ross Jansen (Deceased) 1989
Dr Dennis Rogers (Deceased) 1985
Dr Don Llewellyn (Deceased) 1985
Dame Te Atairangikaahu (Deceased) 1973
Harold Caro (Deceased) 1956
Hilda Ross (Deceased) 1948
Warwick Braithwaite (Deceased) 1947

Hamilton Kirikiriroa Medal

The Hamilton Kirikiriroa Medal is awarded to honour the significant achievement of Hamiltonians who have been very successful in their chosen field and have raised the profile of the city.

Richard O’Brien 2022
Doctor Peter Sergel 2021
Professor Bruce Clarkson 2021
Doctor Beverly Clarkson 2021
John Mortimer 2020
Bunny Mortimer 2020
John Gallagher 2014

City Ambassador

City Ambassador is awarded to an individual or organisation to acknowledge significant service to improving the City of Hamilton’s reputation on an international platform.

Daniel Vettori (August 2015). 2015
Warren Gatland 2014
Archbishop David Moxon 2013

Civic Awards

Outstanding things are achieved every day in Hamilton, thanks in part to the invaluable work of many dedicated members of our community. Each year the Hamilton Civic Awards aim to recognise those exceptional people in our midst.

The awards are open to people who have made an outstanding contribution to the community. Nomination categories include involvement in the arts, dedication to people and wellbeing, the environment, education, and sport.
Nominations have now closed, for further enquiries please email events@hcc.govt.nz.

2022 Recipients

Malcolm Brooker - For services to the Community

Richard Edgecombe - For services to Arts and Culture
Lynne Garnham - For services to Arts and the Environment
Professor Asad Mohsin - For services to the Community
Jamie Toko - For services to the Community
Julie Yeoman - For services to Education and the Environment
Share this page


Has this page been helpful?
Thanks for your feedback.

Last updated 27 July 2023