​Just because we granted a building consent, doesn't mean the house has been built! So, we keep a record of how many houses are under construction (at least one building inspection has been done) and are completed (have passed all building inspections and been issued a Code Compliance Certificate (CCC)).

Here's the type of houses we look at:

  • Houses – this is your average standalone house.
  • Apartments – this includes buildings with fully self-contained units over three storeys with a horizontal firewall between each storey.
  • Townhouses, flats and units – these can still be multiple stories but do not have a firewall separating each storey. This means they are effectively one building split into several dwellings vertically.
  • Retirement village units – these are fully self-contained houses, flats and units built specifically for retirement villages.
Share this page


Has this page been helpful?
Thanks for your feedback.

Last updated 1 July 2022