Using our natural and physical resources sustainably will provide for the wellbeing of generations of Hamiltonians to come. The District Plan Committee is responsible for ensuring we plan now to preserve the future.


Councillor Ryan Hamilton

Deputy Chair

Councillor Angela O'Leary


Mayor Paula Southgate
Councillor Martin Gallagher
Councillor Rob Pascoe
​​Councillor Sarah Thomson
Maangai Maaori James Whetu
Deputy Mayor Geoff Taylor (alternate)


As required, but at least four times a year


A majority of members (including vacancies)


The District Plan Committee provides leadership and direction to staff developing amendments to the Hamilton City Operative District Plan 2017.

The Committee will approve a draft District Plan to go out to the community, and stakeholder and tangata whenua groups for feedback and comment. The Committee will then make recommendations on District Plan amendments.

Share this page


Has this page been helpful?
Thanks for your feedback.

Last updated 15 July 2022